My May Playlist

Hey yall!

This month Is the official start of Summer, well for me at least. I know some colleges are just finishing up, and high-schools are still going until late May and early June, but I AM DONE!

Summer is like the season of music, I swear. When Summer rolls around you hear music everywhere, artists are coming out with new albums and mix tapes left and right, and it is just amazing. I wanted to share my top 13 favorite songs of May so far. These songs aren’t just my fav because they sound good, these songs are all serving a purpose for me, check it out below.

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. My May Playlist

Scared to Be Lonely – Martin Garrix & Dua Lipa

“Do we need somebody just to feel like we’re alright? Is the only reason you’re holding me tonight is because we’re scared to be lonely?” I ask myself this everyday. I find myself wanting someone in my life again and wanting that person to cuddle with, hang out with, and text all the time. But why? I know it’s just because I am alone and I don’t like it. This song is just a reminder not to worry about finding someone new so fast or catching feelings again too fast because honestly my mind isn’t in the best place to make the relationship work because right now I am just scared to be lonely. I need time to be alone and be with myself before starting something new with someone new.

Heavy – Linkin Park & Kiiara

The first lines of lyrics of this song is: “I don’t like my mind right now. Stacking up problems that are so unnecessary.” and “There’s comfort in the panic. I drive myself crazy, thinking everything’s about me.” and just the beginning speaks volumes to me. I can relate so much to my anxiety causing me to hate the way I think, the way I create problems that aren’t there and replay scenarios and events in my head and it drives me crazy. But, like the song says, there’s comfort in this kind of panic. I am used to this, it is what I do. Anytime someone leaves my life I question myself, my character, my actions, everything because of course if something bad is happening to me it must be my fault and everything must be about me…right? This song just reminds me that if I could just let go of everything stressing me out I would be okay, and the weight I am carrying on me is very heavy-too heavy.

Stay – Zedd & Alessia Cara

This song just makes me think of all the people who come and go from your life and sometimes you want them to just stay with you. I’ve learned that things happen for a reason and God brings people into your life and takes them out for a reason. I can’t interfere with that. I have to let toxic people out of my life no matter how much I want them to stay.

No Promises – Cheat Codes & Demi Lovato

I said this before and I’ll say it again. I love hard, and I fall easily. I will give someone my everything with no hesitation or regrets-and that’s a good and a bad thing. But this song just reminds me that it’s easy to fall for someone but you have to hope that we’ll catch each other when that happens. “Just be careful, love ain’t simple.” “I just want to dive in the water, but baby we can’t see the bottom. I just want to dive in with you.” is exactly what I am stuck thinking after everything. Falling in love or catching feelings is scary because you don’t know the end result and sometimes you just have to take a chance and dive in and hope for the best.

Kissing Strangers – DNCE & Nicki Minaj

This song is such an upbeat song about trying to find love and it is funny to me. You’re just out here kissing strangers until you finally meet your soul mate, someone you can love, someone you can trust. That’s really all we’re doing. “Open heart, open mind, never know who you’ll find.”

Still Got Time – ZAYN & PARTYNEXTDOOR

“Just stop lookin for love, girl you’re young and you still got time.” This song reminds me to stop looking for love because I’m 20 years old and I am young and honestly don’t NEED love. I am in college, the best years of your life. I should be enjoying MY life! This song makes me excited for next year at OSU because I can finally enjoy myself and have fun, something I was never able to do before. I am young and I can just have fun, because I still got time.

Losin Control – Russ

This is one of those songs where I turn my volume up to MAX and I scream my heart out. This song is just so relevant to me and I can feel it on a spiritual level. “She’s falling but she doesn’t think he’ll catch her cause her last relationship was a disaster.” I’ll always have that little voice in my head not to trust, not to love too hard, not to let down my walls, not to trust myself anymore-all because my past relationships. I’m pretty sure a lot of girls can relate to this song.

Issues – Julia Michaels

Because of my anxiety I always seem to think I am the only one who is struggling so hard and the only one going through the things I am going through. But this song is a helpful reminder that everyone has issues and real love is about loving those issues because you’ll have the kind of love it takes to solve them. It’ll take that one person who will love your flaws and not judge you for them, wait until you find that person.

Distraction – Kehlani

I LOVE KEHLANI! I am seriously obsessed with her. Her voice, her songs, her messages, everything. And this song isn’t any different. Sometimes you may just need a distraction from life and there is nothing wrong with that.

 

Location (Remix) – Khalid & Kehlani & Lil Wayne

Remix’s are always sketchy because sometimes they can ruin a song, but this one is SO much better than the original-again because Kehlani is in it and I love her-but whatever. And honestly I HATED the original and I would change the radio station every time it came on, that’s how much I hated it, but Kehlani’s part just pulls it all together and makes it 100x better, no joke.

Play That Song – Train

This song is just such a happy-go-lucky song. It makes me think of all the little things that are just such a blessing in life. All he wants is for the DJ to play his girl’s favorite song so she can be happy, I don’t know, such a simple message and meaning but tied into an upbeat and happy song to listen to this Summer.

It Ain’t Me – Selena Gomez & Kygo

I love this song because it’s just an empowering break up song in a way. Just reminding myself that I did so much for a person and now they don’t get to enjoy those things anymore because they didn’t treat me right and don’t deserve those things anymore. All those things I used to do, it ain’t me doing them anymore.

At My Best – Machine Gun Kelly & Hailee Steinfeld

This is a life lesson everyone should learn in their life and one that I am still trying to grasp. If someone leaves you when you’re at your worst or when you’ve hit rock bottom they don’t deserve you when you reach the top and are happy, successful, beautiful, whatever the case may be. Please please please recognize your worth and don’t settle for less than you deserve.

***

What are some songs you have on repeat this month? Share below! I love finding new music!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College

3 thoughts on “My May Playlist

Tell Me What YOU Think!

