Your 3 Day Spring Cleaning Checklist

Hey yall!

Spring has sprung! Yall already know that Fall is my favorite season because of the weather, activities, and all the beautiful colors-but you didn’t know that I also love Spring simply because it gives me an excuse to do some tidying and cleaning!

I also know that many of you are NOT like me, in the sense that most people dread cleaning. I, on the other hand LOVE it! So, I wanted to give yall a 3 day guide to spring cleaning your homes/dorms/or even just your bedroom! But of course, I included other parts of the home that may not be applicable to you if you are living in a dorm for those of you who are looking to tidy up their college apartment or home!

Your 3 Day Spring Cleaning Checklist.png

Day 1 – Tidy Up & Throw Away!

On the first day I only want you to travel from room to room throwing away things! You have to declutter your home in order to clean it up nicely! So grab a 30 gallon trash-bag and go through the cabinets, drawers, shelves, closets, under the bed, in the couch cushions, EVERYWHERE and start throwing things out! Here is a checklist of common things to make sure you throw out!

chaos-227971_1920.jpg

Bathroom:

  • old makeup/perfume/lotion
  • expired medicine/sunscreen
  • broken hair ties/clips/brushes
  • dried up nail polish

Bedroom:

  • worn out clothes/clothes you no longer wear
  • broken jewelry
  • earrings without a match
  • stained clothing
  • unused purses
  • shoeboxes
  • clutter in your drawers/nightstands

Kitchen:

  • containers without a lid
  • lids without containers
  • broken appliances/cooking utensils
  • expired food
  • unused cookbooks
  • chipped plates/dishes

Office:

  • magazines
  • old receipts
  • dried up mens/sharpies/highlighters/markers
  • old notebooks
  • outdated/broken electronics
  • expired coupons
  • unused/broken cords/wires
  • old school papers
  • old warranty/instruction manuals
  • old address labels

Living Room: 

  • old magazines
  • old jackets/winter wear no one wears/can fit
  • old/dirty shoes

Day 2 – Dust & Wipe Down

Now that you have decluttered your home you can start to clean it up. Clean each room in sections so you don’t miss a thing! Also be sure to clean any rugs, drapes, curtains, towels, hand rags, etc. along the way! You could also be doing laundry while you’re doing the hand cleaning of the other items! Follow this checklist to help you clean!

clean-571679_1920.jpg

Bathroom:

  • Clorox/disinfect counters, sinks, toilets, tubs, and rails
  • mop floors

Bedroom:

  • dust furniture, cabinets, drawers, window sills, and shelves
  • vacuum floors

Kitchen:

  • Clorox/disinfect counters, sinks, fridge, and appliances (microwave, toaster, blender, coffee machine, etc.)
  • dust cabinets, shelves, and drawers
  • mop floors
  • clean stove top burners and oven

Office: 

  • dust desk, shelves, drawers, keyboard, computer
  • vacuum floors
  • Clorox/disinfect filing cabinets, keyboard, and mouse

Living Room:

  • dust end tables, shelves, coffee tables, racks, pictures, fans, and electronics
  • Clorox/disinfect remotes, coasters, and electronics
  • vacuum floors

Day 3 – Reorganize & Redecorate

This is my favorite day! I love to reorganize and redecorate spaces. It gives them a new life! I get tired of the same old thing, and after a while I need a change. Spring cleaning is the perfect time to change things up!

shoes-1033637_1920.jpg

Bedroom / Office / Living Room:

I like to do this by room too. Basically, just take a look at your space and see if there is a way to reconfigure the room that would be appealing. Check the dimensions of the space and the items in it and see if there is another way to arrange it. Simply moving your desk from one side of the room to the other can really change things up! Moving that couch to in front of the window could open your living space and make it more inviting.

Kitchen:

Have you noticed that you always have to walk to the other side of the kitchen (away from the fridge and sink) to grab the cups ? Now is your chance to rearrange the cupboards and cabinets! First, I take everything out and start with the stuff I use the most. I try to arrange these things in the areas I would use them in so they are easily accessible. For example: I moved my pots + pans to the cabinet right next to the oven because before they were on the other side of the kitchen and it annoys me when I have to walk back and forth when I’m cooking!

Bathroom:

Do you have organization bins/cabinets that hold your bathroom stuff? Is there a new way you could organize them to conserve more space or to make the flow of the bathroom more accessible? You could also spice up your bathroom by converting your atrocious under sink storage space into a neatly organized space with containers and bins from the dollar store! Neatly decorate your toilet paper rolls into little stacks in the cabinets above the toilet.

***

There you have it! In 3 days your home/dorm/room is now tidied up, cleaned up, and done up! I know after I spring clean my apartment I always feel so refreshed and reenergized! I swear it’s the feng shui after I reorganize and redecorate! Show me your before & after photos of your spring cleaning with our Instagram hashtag #MyDriftingDorm to be featured on our IG @MyDriftingDesk! I’ll be sure to share my pictures as well!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College

Tell Me What YOU Think!

