Ameni Too Many | Her College Experience

Hey yall!

Welcome back to Drifting Around Campus where I feature different bloggers and college students from all around the globe and share their experiences, stories, and tips to help you conquer college! If you would love to join this series and be a guest on My Drifting Desk you can click here!

I had the pleasure of interviewing our next guest, Ameni, on how she chose her school (or better yet, how it chose her!), how she got into her major, and so much more! Read more about what she’s learned through college and how she manages to de-stress + practice self care through all the hustle and bustle!

Ameni Too Many - Her College Experience.png

My name is Ameni, I’m a Tunisian, though I have lived abroad my entire life. I’ve lived in about six countries, 11 houses, and studied in 9 schools in total. Currently, I study at Georgetown University in Qatar and I major in International politics. Why? Because I have made my mission to improve my country in any way that I possibly can. I’ve started my blog amenitoomany about two months ago. It has been quite a ride since then and I am learning something new everyday. My favorite things to do? Reading Harry Potter books, dancing to my Spotify playlists, learning about random things, and singing my heart out when no one is around.

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. More About Ameni.

M: How did you choose what college you wanted to attend?

A: Okay so, to be very honest, I didn’t choose my college, my college chose me. I mean obviously my college chose me, but I actually didn’t have much deciding to do. When I was in my senior year of high-school, I didn’t know what I wanted to do in life (I still don’t), so I applied for an art school ( I was thinking of doing fashion design ), engineering (because my dad wanted me to apply), biology (because my mom wanted me to apply), medicine (because I hoped my fear of blood would eventually go away), business school, and a school of foreign service. I was definitely interested in art and in diplomacy more, so I just prayyyed that I got into one of them and not both to not have to make the decision. In the end, I got rejected from the engineering, biology, business, and medicine schools, waitlisted for the art school and got accepted to Georgetown School of Foreign Service with a scholarship. I haven’t regretted my choice since. Hoya Saxa 🙂

You May Also Like: 21 Reasons to Join OSU’s Class of 2021

M: What inspired you to choose your major/minor?

A: I chose international politics because I have been living abroad and moving from country to country my entire life. I figured that, if I have already started to explore the world for 17 years, I might as well just continue for the rest of my life. I specifically chose politics because I want to make a positive impact on my country and the rest of the world. Tunisia, since the revolution of 2011, is still trying to rebuild its entire political system after centuries of dictatorship, and my dream is to research for policies that could improve its political, economical and social situation.

M: Name one thing you wish you could have brought to college with you, and why.

A: I’m going to hesitate between saying my mom and my paint and canvas. My mom is a big part of my support system. She has always been by my side in high school, and would literally help me in anyway possible. Whenever I had an exam, she would study it as much as I do. She is also really really fun to be around, and just lightens up the mood and makes everything so much nicer. My art supplies, well, I couldn’t bring them with me because they are too bulky. I have special paint that I bring from Tunisia, and I just love working with it. It takes my mind off things when I paint. Sadly, I don’t paint as much as I used to anymore, because, well, college.

You May Also Like: The Ultimate College Packing List

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. More About Ameni.

M: What are some of the ways you get involved on your campus?

A: I love to help out with organizing events. I try as best as I can to help out with decorations, logistics, social media, and just try to help the organizers execute their events as smoothly as possible. I also love taking part in MUNs, debates, and listening to talks and conferences that happen from time to time.

M: What do you never leave your dorm without?

A: Lipstick. My day is gloomy and boring without it.

You May Also Like: Back to School Emergency Kit

M: Describe a time you felt like totally giving up and what you did to push through it.

There was a time when I just constantly felt demotivated. I would have a hard time waking up, going to class, and I just felt like crap all the time because my grades weren’t so great, I was gaining weight, and I felt like everything that I worked for was just pointless. I overcame that phase by going to therapy, meditating, talking to people that I love and that gave me positive energy, and I just tried to give myself extra time just to take care of myself.

You May Also Like: 5 Ways to Conquer the End of Semester Slump

M: What is the number one thing college has taught you?

A: To always, ALWAYS, be flexible. When something goes wrong, just go with it and make the most out of it. If you’ve overslept and missed a class, don’t beat yourself up, go to the next one and apologize to the professor. If you had a bad grade in a paper, talk to the professor and use your mistakes to write a better one next time. If you’re on your period, it’s 2 am in the morning, and you have no pads, just take a towel, sleep on it and hope for the best. Sometimes you just got to wing it however you can. Like Tim Gunn says “Make it work”.

M: Tell us about your funniest, favorite, or an ‘oh-shit’ moment from college.

A: Oh god I have so much of them. Okay, I’ll tell you guys three of them. There was the time I was in class, really proud of my outfit but feeling a bit chili, so I tried to wear my jacket and knocked my cup of coffee and spilled it on my pants. It was really hot. The entire class noticed. Another time, I wore all white, and I was on my period. A few hours into the day, and I turned into Po from Tellitubbies. Even my socks got stained. No one noticed, but I had to walk out of university discreetly and head to the dorms to change. A friend was nice enough to lend me his jacket. And another time, the fire alarm in the dorms rang at two in the morning. Was so startled I ran out of the building, only to notice I was barefoot, wearing just a t-shirt and underwear. Everyone saw. Including the firefighters. Hilarious? Not so much.

You May Also Like: I Went to the Wrong Class…My First Day of College Story

IMG_4246

M: How do you practice self care and de-stress after a busy day or week?

A: I get home, take my bra off, take my pants off, throw on a nice warm hoodie, make myself some food, shut the door, turn my lights off, fairy lights on, get under the cover and just binge watch something with drama on, like Project Runway, Keeping up with the Kardashians or Hell’s Kitchen. Then when I’m done eating (while still watching the show) I’ll just take off my make up, put on a face-mask, maybe color in a coloring book, or paint my nails, and just enjoy the show and speak to no one and text no one and just be my unsocial, introvert self.

M: What one piece of advice would you give to an incoming freshman about college?

A: Give yourself some time to adapt. College is not easy. You will constantly face challenges, and you will always be in difficult situations. So while you confront them, take care of yourself, don’t be too hard on yourself, you’ll get the hang of it, just take it easy, and you’ll be fine. Mental health I feel like is the most important thing you should pay attention to. Make sure you treat yourself right, especially when you are feeling under pressure, because you don’t want to harm yourself and make things more difficult for you. And believe in yourself. You got accepted in college for a reason. So never, ever, ever, in no way, should you doubt yourself. You got this.

You May Also Like: The College Freshman Survival Guide

Learn more about our guest, Ameni!

I love reading, writing, singing, dancing, binge watching, drawing, coloring, cooking, and working out. Jk, I don’t really. My tastes in music shifts a lot during the day. However, I can tell you that my all time favorites are Edith Piaf, Maitre Gims, Stromae, Frank Sinatra, Michael Buble and Armstrong. I love Jazz for a reason that I don’t really know. My favorite Instagrammers, Yutubers, and bloggers would have to be Huda Beauty, Safia Nygaard and my mentor, good friend and biggest inspiration: Eman Zabi. You can find her on Getlost.live. She’s friggin’ amazing. My Favorite TV show series are Friends and Game of thrones. I watch Friends when I feel depressed. I always watch it after Game of Thrones, because it makes me depressed. I’m still grieving Robb Stark. I sadly don’t have any pets. But I’d love to have a cat and call it Voldemort. I have 3 younger siblings, and I love them. I am team iPhone. All. The. Way. Except the 7Th. What’s up with the earphones jack idea?! If I had to choose one TV show character to describe me it would be a mix of Chandler Bing from Friends (I am very sarcastic, to the misery of my friends) and Jenna from Akward (because I am clumsy AF and put myself in the stupidest situations ever). I must say, my French accent is so on point, some people just assume I’m French. I’m not French. Also, the accent is fake. Et oui!

***

If you enjoyed meeting Ameni you can check out her personal Blog and follow her journey as she conquers her own hectic college experience and helps you along the way! You can also find her on Instagram!

Stay tuned for our next guest on Drifting Around Campus!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College

Tell Me What YOU Think!

