Monthly Rewind | March 2017

Hey yall!

I have started a new blog series to give yall a better look into my life outside of college and get to know me personally. At the end of every month I will have a monthly rewind where I recap on things that happened over the past month and just keep yall updated on things happening in my life.

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Monthly Rewind | March 2017

March

At the beginning of the month my cousin texted me to see if I would want to go to the Arnold Classic with her. This event is HUGE! I used to compete here when I was a cheerleader but my cousin wanted to go for all the free goodies and to meet the people she looks up to for her workout + body goals. Of course I said yes! I love the classic!

We went Saturday and Sunday and we got a bunch of free stuff, my favorite is my pink shaker bottle I got. 🙂  Most of the time we had to wait in long lines and sign up for something to get free stuff but, oh well. On Sunday I stood in line for 2 and a half hours so my cousin could get a picture with her fav workout couple! (If that ain’t love, I don’t know what is)

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Monthly Rewind | March 2017

This month I also caved and BOUGHT a planner. I know. How could I?! But I couldn’t resist. I was looking for something very specific and I didn’t feel like making my own one this time so I went on the search to buy one. I went with Emily Ley’s Simplified Planner because I wanted an hourly planner with to-do lists and extra space and this one was PERFECT. I absolutely LOVE it! It helps me plan literally every aspect of my life in one planner and it is super cute, duh!

You May Also Like: How to Better Manage Your Time in College

If you didn’t know, March was Women’s History Month and March 8th was international women’s day, or otherwise known as: A Day Without a Woman. Women all over protested and either called off of work, didn’t go, wore red, didn’t shop or go out (unless it was to a local business owned and ran by women or minorities) and engaged in sit ins/marches. OSU had a sit in and teach in with speakers scheduled all day every 15 minutes to educate and share their experiences of being a woman or other marginalized people. I participated in the teach in and OSU’s march on campus to protest and fight for women’s rights. You can read about my experience and what happened that day HERE! 

You May Also Like: International Women’s Day | A Day Without a Woman

I took my BCS girls to their last competition of the season this month and it was bittersweet! My junior girls won + got the best stunts award from their entire devision!!! But my minis got 3rd even though they killed it out there and hit 0 deductions! I was so proud of them but of course it hurt to see them lose! I can’t wait to start the next season and get the next group of girls ready to compete and love the sport of cheer and make new friends!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Monthly Rewind | March 2017

The day after their last competition we had our end of the year banquet that I planned for the girls to recognize all of their hard work and to congratulate them on a great season. I got each one of them trophies and I made up unique awards to give out that corresponded with candy (for example: I gave out the Reece’s Pieces Award to the person that we would fall to pieces without!) They were super cute and fun awards that the girls loved and of course I passed out the candy to go along with the awards. I had so much fun and the girls loved getting dressed up recognized. It really warmed my heart at the end when I was finished handing out all of the awards and 2 parents came up to give me a coaches gift they put together. I wasn’t expecting anything and I wanted to CRY! They gave me a T-Shirt, water bottle, and picture of my junior team in their National Championship jackets because they wont COA and were so happy, and they also gave me a Victoria’s Secret gift card and little pastry treats to eat (which were yummy by the way). This season was absolutely amazing. I don’t know what I’m going to do all summer while I am waiting for the new season!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Monthly Rewind | March 2017

I also did something VERY drastic this month! I…cut…my…hair…! I got 16-18 inches cut off and got a cute short lob hair cut! I hadn’t had my hair cut in 2 years so it was definitely time for a trim! I am still getting used to the short hair, but I definitely like it more than I thought I would. I’ve never had short hair so I was very nervous when she cut my pony tail off. Let me know what yall think!

And by the way; if yall are just now hearing about this, then you are MISSING OUT! Because I posted my new hair cut on our Instagram page right afterwards! So make sure you are following us!

One totally awesome thing that happened this month is that I found somewhere to sublease this summer so I can stay in Columbus for my internship! The best thing about it is that I get to room with my BFF!! We lived in the same building our freshman year so getting back together is going to be so much fun! Now I am SO excited for the summer! I’ll be sure to do a college apartment move in VLOG and tour for yall!!

And btw; if yall are just now hearing about this, then you are MISSING OUT! Because I posted my new hair cut on our Instagram page right afterwards! So make sure you are following us!

You May Also Like: Reflection of My Freshman Year of College

I hate to leave yall on a somber note but I have been going through an identity crisis where I don’t know who I am, what I stand for, what I want to do with my life, or where I want to go. It has been really stressful. I’ve been struggling this month and most of this academic year with this concept and my mind has been racing about all of these things. I just wanted to touch on this a little and let you know that if you or someone you know is struggling with the same thing: it is okay! It is perfectly normal and not unusual for college students to go through something like this. Of course it is hard and has been sending be into depressed moods but I want to reassure you that you are not alone. I will update yall more on this identity journey once I actually figure myself out, so be on the lookout for that.

The link below kind of starts off this whole downward spiral that has started for me. If you want a little peak into whats going on in my head read the post below.

You May Also Like: The eyes of others, our prisons. The thoughts of others, our cages.

***

I hope yall love getting little peaks into my daily and personal life with these monthly rewinds! Check back in next month to see what else is going on!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College

Tell Me What YOU Think!

