My College Nighttime Routine

Hey yall!

If you’re one of those people who hate waking up in the morning, have 8am classes, or always forget something when you’re leaving for class-all of which are me-then you should set a nighttime routine or a schedule to follow to make getting up in the mornings easier + faster.

Before I started my nighttime routine my mornings were hectic and I was waking up a half hour earlier than I do now. I know a half hour doesn’t seem like much, but when you have 8ams an extra half hour of sleep is NEEDED. Take a look at my nighttime routine that saves me time and stress when getting ready in the morning.

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. My College Nighttime Routine

Check My Planner & Make a To-Do List

The first thing I do when I start to wind down for the night is check my planner. My planner is my lifeline and I wouldn’t be able to function without it. I check it every night to make sure I got all of my homework that I was supposed to do for tomorrow done. I also check what my schedule looks like for the next day so I don’t forget about any appointments, professor office hours, or student org. meetings.

After checking my schedule for the next day I make a to-do list with what I need to do or get done that may not be in my planner or that needs expanded on. I am a HUGE believer in lists. You can ask D, I make lists for EVERYTHING. Lists are like a giant brain dump and I can organize my thoughts for the next day this way. So I look at my homework, meetings, classes, appointments, etc. and make a list of the things I need to do for the next day and prioritize them so I am on top of it the next day. Luckily I can do all of this with my Simplified Planner by Emily Ley!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. My College Nighttime Routine

Pack My Book Bag

Before I started my nighttime routine I would be rushing to get to school in the morning after taking forever to get ready and get organized that I would just grab my bag and go, only to get to class and realize it is filled with yesterdays folders and notebooks and I am completely helpless for the rest of the day. Now I double check my bag the night before and fill it with everything I may need for the next day so I don’t forget to do it the next day.

You May Also Like: What’s Inside My Book Bag – 2016

Pack My Breakfast/Lunch

If you are running late in the morning food is the last thing on your mind, until you get to class and your stomach is growling so loud that everyone is looking at you. I started bringing something light with me in the mornings to my 8am classes because I don’t want to get up any earlier than I need to and stop at the cafe for something to eat. I usually pack a granola bar or a pop-tart in my purse the night before so when I get to class I have a little surprise waiting for me! Doing this the night before helps me not to forget the next day so I don’t starve to death.

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. My College Nighttime Routine

You May Also Like: Must Have College Dorm Room Foods

Pick Out My Clothes for Tomorrow

The #1 thing that took up the most of my time in the mornings was picking out what I was going to wear. It was always a struggle of trying on 5 different outfits before leaving in sweats and a hoody because I couldn’t find anything else and then I am pissed off for the rest of the day and see every person I know on campus.

I started picking out my clothes the night before so I can take the stress out of getting ready in the morning. I would check the weather the night before and pick out something that will work. Of course, when I wake up I re-check the weather to make sure my outfit is still appropriate and if not, I can quickly exchange my v-neck for a sweater and be out the door instead of worrying about a total wardrobe change.

You May Also Like: College Winter Wardrobe Essentials

Shower, Clean, Get Comfy

Finally, when I get everything organized and situated I take a shower, wash my face, and put my PJ’s on. I found that taking a shower at night helps me save time in the morning because I don’t have to wake up earlier to make sure I can get a shower before everyone else on my floor wakes up, and if I need to wash my hair I don’t have to go to class looking like a wet dog. My hair dried all night and I am ready in the morning.

Helpful Tip: Braid your hair after your shower so it dries over night and you aren’t getting your pillow completely soaked. And, when you wake up and take it out you have bouncy curls!

***

I hope getting into a nighttime routine will help your mornings go smoother and help you get a little extra sleep in the morning! Let me know what you do before bed to help you conquer college!

my-drifting-desk

 

4 thoughts on “My College Nighttime Routine

Tell Me What YOU Think!

