Say Hello to Jess from Scotland!

Hey yall!

Welcome back to Drifting Around Campus where I feature different bloggers and college students from all around the globe and share their experiences, stories, and tips to help you conquer college! If you would love to join this series and be a guest on My Drifting Desk you can click here!
.
I had the joy of interviewing our next guest, Jess, about her college life in Scotland, her own book review blog she runs, working while in college, and so much more! You can read more about Jess and our interview down below!
My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Drifting Around Campus | Say Hello to Jess from Scotland.

Say Hello to Jess!

My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Drifting Around Campus | Say Hello to Jess from Scotland.
Hi there! My name is Jess, and I’m a Pacific Northwest gal turned Edinburgh veterinary student. I’m not very much of a city girl, and I’d eat chocolate and blueberries every single day for the rest of my life if I could. My favorite quote is “We are here to laugh at the odds and live our lives so well that death will tremble to take us” by Charles Bukowski, and I think that does a better job of introducing me than any autobiography I could write. Thank you for taking the time to learn a bit more about me, and I look forward to getting to know you better!
.
I’m quite into sports. I work out every morning with the Beachbody Insanity MAX30 program. On top of that, I play soccer, kickbox, swing dance, and horseback ride every week. I also enjoy being outdoors and traveling, and it’s even better if I’m outdoors in a new place! I’m a huge country music fan, and while I’ll listen to almost anything, I’m always in the mood for country. My favorite country artists are probably Carrie Underwood, Florida Georgia Line, and Chris Lane. I’ve only been to two concerts, but my favorite of those was Brett Eldredge. It was quite a small concert, so it was very personal and my friend and I got close to the stage easily. My favorite TV show was House. I’m so sad they aren’t making any more seasons, but they ended the show perfectly. I have a rescued turtle at home! I’m an only child, and I really do love it. Hm. I think team iPhone, even though I have an Android. I have an uncanny ability to catch falling objects, most of the time ones that I have knocked over.
I'm quite into sports. I work out every morning with the Beachbody Insanity MAX30 program. On top of that, I play soccer, kickbox, swing dance, and horseback ride every week. I also enjoy being outdoors and traveling, and it's even better if I'm outdoors in a new place! I'm a huge country music fan, and while I'll listen to almost anything, I'm always in the mood for country. My favorite country artists are probably Carrie Underwood, Florida Georgia Line, and Chris Lane. I've only been to two concerts, but my favorite of those was Brett Eldredge. It was quite a small concert, so it was very personal and my friend and I got close to the stage easily. My favorite TV show was House. I'm so sad they aren't making any more seasons, but they ended the show perfectly. I have a rescued turtle at home! I'm an only child, and I really do love it. Hm. I think team iPhone, even though I have an Android. I have an uncanny ability to catch falling objects, most of the time ones that I have knocked over.

M: What are some of the differences in attending college in Scotland and attending college in the US?

J: The thing that sticks out the most to me is the sports! Going to football or basketball games in the US is a huge part of the college lifestyle, while here, I could be the only fan at a varsity match! It’s also quite different (and awesome!) that you get to start taking classes in your major from day one. There are no general education requirements or anything; you just jump right in.

M: What would you never leave the house without?

J: My purse is bottomless, and it has everything in it. Off the top of my head, I can think of the following in it: phone (which doubles as a Kindle), wallet, iPod, headphones, sunglasses, first aid kit, paper, pencil, hand sanitizer, lotion, sunscreen, Chapstick, business cards, and gum. It still has tons of room for any documents I need to bring along with me, and believe it or not, it’s quite a small purse! I bring that literally everywhere with me.

M: Because you are a lover of books, how do you decide which one to read next? Do you believe in ‘don’t judge a book by its cover.’?

J: Ooh. If there’s a sequel or new book by one of my favorite authors, that normally takes priority because I’ll knock that one out in a day. Then comes any books that I have an approaching review deadline for, which are always books authors have requested me to review. After that, it depends on what cover appeals to me more. That may seem to answer the second question about judging a book by its cover, and I guess it does. I’ll be a lot less likely to pick up a book if I dislike the cover. That being said, a really intriguing plot description can easily sway me the other way.

M: If someone was to write a book about your life, what would it’s title be?

J: I would call it Up. I believe that life is a beautiful combination of uphill battles and upward progress, and my life fits that belief perfectly. Now if only I had a colorful house and a bunch of balloons, too…

M: How did you decide where you wanted to attend college at, and what you wanted to go for? What do you plan to do with your degree?

J: I believe that animals are one of the purest forms of love and innocence left on the planet, and I wanted a career that would enable me to preserve that and put my helper personality to use. I chose Edinburgh, specifically, because it offers a 5-year program compared to the standard 8 years in the US and because it’s one of the best veterinary schools in the world. I plan on returning to North America and becoming a veterinary ophthalmologist and practice owner in British Columbia after I graduate.
 My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Drifting Around Campus | Say Hello to Jess from Scotland.

M: How do you find time to read for pleasure among your other readings for school?

J: I’ve found I’m quite unique in this, but I have very little work to do outside of class. As a program, our only real homework is studying and reviewing the material; we don’t have many projects or homework assignments. I’ve never been one to need to study for hours on end, and luckily that hasn’t changed for me in college!

M: You work for a company called Forever Living, can you tell us more what this company is all about and your role there.

J: Most people would call me a network marketer, and while that title is accurate, I like to shy away from it because of the negative stigma that can come with it. I like to call myself a business owner alongside the health and well-being company called Forever. Some of my colleagues call themselves business coaches or well-being mentors. My business is based off of providing products to people to help their health and lifestyle and by building a team around me that do the same thing I do.
Forever is amazing in the sense that their products and ethics are of the highest quality. They have hundreds of products all made from a base of aloe vera and/or bee propolis, and people all over the world have had amazing results in regards to dermatological issues, weight loss, digestive irregularity, and many other common problems. They also treat their business owners fantastically. There are incredible incentives like travel opportunities, uncapped income potentials, and a mind-blowing amount of passionate support. I’m proud to work alongside a company that can provide so much for everyone it comes in contact with!

M: Does your position at Forever Living correspond with your life message from your blog of ‘finding a rose in each day’?

J: There are honestly so many roses I’ve discovered through Forever. For those of you who haven’t read my blog’s mission statement, I built it upon the idea of finding a rose, or a positive moment, out of every day. In regards to Forever, each time I find support from my mentors and team members, that’s a rose. Each time I help someone by suggesting a product or welcoming them into the business, that’s a rose. Each time I use one of the products that make my skin feel amazing (and smell amazing – bee propolis, anyone?), that’s a rose. I also know that the lifestyle Forever is going to enable me to have will be filled with so many roses I won’t have time to consider the thorns.
My Drifting Desk | Conquer College. Drifting Around Campus | Say Hello to Jess from Scotland.

M: What is the best part about being a #GirlBoss and working with Forever Living?

J: I absolutely love the people I get to work with! The first time I interacted with Forever on a mass scale was during a Facebook party. I was blown away by how passionate and enthusiastic people were about the products and the business opportunity, and that was a major factor in my decision to join. My mentors and other people in my upline are ridiculously supportive, too, and I’m so thankful for them.

M: What one piece of advice would you give to an incoming freshman about college?

J: Listen to yourself, not all of the outside voices. Don’t live out of obligations, commitments you made in high school, or what you think you should be doing. Reinvent yourself. You have a fresh slate, and it’d be a waste to allow the same negative habits and mentalities to follow you to college.

***

If you enjoyed meeting Jess you can check out her personal Blog and follow her journey as she finds a rose in each and every day. You can also find her on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

Stay tuned for our next guest on Drifting Around Campus!

my-drifting-desk

Tell Me What YOU Think!

