College Winter Wardrobe Essentials

Hey yall!

Okay, I’m sorry but I am not a big fan of winter. I just don’t like being freezing cold to the point where it hurts to breath. But I live in Ohio where winter gets pretty serious. I wanted to share with yall my top winter wardrobe essentials to keep you cute and warm this winter.

You May Also Like: 15 Tips to Surviving Winter in College

winter-wardrobe

1: Hat // Headband

I am not a hat person because I have very long hair and so my hat hair gets pretty serious. I am more of the very warm headbands that cover your ears kind of person so I can still stay warm but not mess up my hair. This is my favorite right now because it is OSU colors. When I am feeling a hat I like to wear my Victoria’s Secret Sport hat.

Helpful Tip: you lose most of your heat from your head so if you want to stay warm, cover your head!

2: Gloves

Stuffing your hands in your pockets for warmth can only go so far. Gloves will be needed at some point. I prefer ones that I can still use my phone with. If you are living off campus but close enough to walk then gloves will be helpful because your long walks to campus will be FREEZING!

Helpful Tip: You could also get some of those Warm Hand packs and put them in your gloves to keep your hands warm or put them in your pockets if you don’t have gloves.

3: Scarf

I have over 40 scarfs because I love them. They can pull together an entire outfit and they are my favorite accessory. But I do have one specific scarf that I wear when it is really cold outside because it is my warmest one that covers some of my face too. My boyfriend’s mom bought me this my freshman year and it was a lifesaver. Find yourself a trusty scarf that will keep you warm!

4: Thick Leggings

You will never see me in jeans unless it is a VERY special occasion. I live in leggings or sweats but we all know that some leggings are very thin and that doesn’t help when the windchill is 20 below. I bought some thicker winter leggings to help keep my legs warm on those really cold days.

5: Winter Boots

Get yourself some boots that are warm AND waterproof. I saw some people wearing rain boots in the snow so during my first year (before I actually had winter boots) I wore mine too. Let me tell you….my feet were numb because of how cold they were. Rain boots are waterproof yes, but they are NOT insulated enough to keep your feet warm from the snow! After only 1 day in those I told myself I couldn’t keep doing this. My boyfriend’s mom bought me some Sperry Boots and those saved my feet! They work GREAT in the snow and my feet have never been so warm!

snow-1148946_1920

6: Winter Coat

A hoodie will not cut it in college. I know in high school it worked because all you were doing was walking from your house to the end of your driveway to get on the bus and then from the bus to the school. But in college you are walking for a mile or two to get to your classes and that is a long time to be in the cold. I tried that my first winter day in college and I didn’t stop shivering until halfway through class. I then got a furry Northface jacket that does a better job at keeping me warm but It still didn’t keep me all the way warm. This year I am investing in an expensive but warm large parka coat that is long and covers some of my legs and has a hood to keep me extra warm and I suggest you do the same.

Don’t be like me and fail at winter in college because I suffered my freshman year because I was not prepared for the cold.

***

What kind of jacket do you use for the winter in college? I need some ideas on what to get

my-drifting-desk

14 thoughts on “College Winter Wardrobe Essentials

  1. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything. But just imagine if you added some great photos or
    videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but
    with images and videos, this site could definitely be one of the best in its
    field. Great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed a piece of writing as much as this
    one. You have gone beyond my expectations on this subject as well as I totally agree
    with your points. You have done well with this.

    Like

Tell Me What YOU Think!

