A Song With a Strong Message

Hey yall!

I wanted to share with you one of my favorite songs right now because of its powerful message that is behind it.

You May Also Like: Music Monday

music-monday

It is called Scars To Your Beautiful by Alessia Cara. Here are the lyrics I found on Lyric Genius.com for your reference while I talk about them. I suggest yall go to Youtube and listen to the song once without the lyrics and then again reading the lyrics while listening to the song. This is the best way to take in a good song and really feel everything it is trying to tell you.

She just wants to be beautiful
She goes unnoticed, she knows no limits
She craves attention, she praises an image
She prays to be sculpted by the sculptor
Oh, she don’t see the light that’s shining
Deeper than the eyes can find it, maybe we have made her blind
So she tries to cover up her pain and cut her woes away
Cause covergirls don’t cry after their face is made

But there’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark
You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful
Oh, oh, oh
Oh-oh, oh, oh
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful

She has dreams to be an envy, so she’s starving
You know, covergirls eat nothing
She says “beauty is pain and there’s beauty in everything”
“What’s a little bit of hunger?”
“I can go a little while longer,” she fades away
She don’t see her perfect, she don’t understand she’s worth it
Or that beauty goes deeper than the surface, oh, oh
So to all the girls that’s hurting, let me be your mirror
Help you see a little bit clearer the light that shines within

There’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark
You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful

No better you than the you that you are
No better you than the you that you are
No better life than the life we’re living
No better life than the life we’re living
No better time for your shine, you’re a star
No better time for your shine, you’re a star
Oh, you’re beautiful, oh, you’re beautiful

And there’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark
You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful

Oh my goodness, she has such a beautiful voice. Now I want to talk about individual verses I love in this and why they speak to me.

Oh, she don’t see the light that’s shining
Deeper than the eyes can find it, maybe we have made her blind
So she tries to cover up her pain and cut her woes away

I love this verse because to me she’s talking about someone who doesn’t realize how beautiful they are, that they can’t see the bright light that they give off for everyone to see. When she says “Maybe we made her blind” I think about the media and how that has altered the views of young girls and boys everywhere. Girls are now striving for this thin body with flawless skin, long beautiful hair, thick lips and hips, and big butts and boobs, but all of these things aren’t needed to be beautiful. Who said THIS was the definition of beauty? This is what young girls are looking at everyday trying so hard to look like so they feel pretty and accepted by society. Since young girls may not naturally look this way they try to cover up the parts of themselves that isn’t like the photoshopped magazine pictures. The lyrics says she cuts away her woes which points to the fact that some girls turn to self harm because of all these pressures in the world to look like something that my be impossible or unhealthy to do.

But there’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark
You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are
And you don’t have to change a thing
The world could change its heart
No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful

The chorus is my absolute FAVORITE part. I always sing this with all of my heart. The chorus is basically saying that although you don’t think you’re beautiful because the media has made the world blind to beauty so you try to cover yourself up (in the first verse), and you may be in this dark place right now but there is hope for you. You are beautiful just the way you are, exactly as you were created, without alterations, without needing anyone’s approval. She says that the world is the ugly place, not you, so you don’t have to change one single thing about yourself because it is the world that needs to change it’s ways. This is so true because the world is what is wrong. The “definition” of beauty that exists in the world is wrong. THAT is what needs to change.

She has dreams to be an envy, so she’s starving
You know, covergirls eat nothing
She says “beauty is pain and there’s beauty in everything”
“What’s a little bit of hunger?”
“I can go a little while longer,” she fades away

These girls have dreams to be looked at in envy, for people to finally say they are beautiful, they want to be that girl that people are striving to look like but for that to happen these girls are taking unhealthy measures. Eating disorders are so common in these types of situations. Girls will become anorexic or bulimic to try to shrink their waist size to fit this “definition of beauty”. What they don’t know is that this is super unhealthy and that it can kill you. These girls are looking at these twig thin models and assume they are starving themselves to look this way. Yes some of them are but some of them are built that way naturally so it is healthy for them, just like you are built the way you are, NATURALLY and healthy. They think they have to starve themselves to look like that, they say they can go a little longer without eating even though they are in pain because of this since “beauty is pain”. After a while they fade away into nothing by staring themselves to fit this false mold of beauty. The world once again needs to change the models they use to have a wide variety of shapes and colors of models so that young people can see and realize that people come in all shapes and sizes not just one. This way the world will be more accepting of these different shapes and sizes as well, lessening the pressure to look a certain wain order to be accepted.

She don’t see her perfect, she don’t understand she’s worth it
Or that beauty goes deeper than the surface, oh, oh
So to all the girls that’s hurting, let me be your mirror
Help you see a little bit clearer the light that shines within

Alessia is saying that these girls don’t realize they are already perfect and that they don’t need to do anything in order to be perfect. They don’t see that they are worth everything, including living. Beauty is only skin deep. Your inner beauty is for a lifetime and when everyone gets old and wrinkly, their butts and boobs start to sag a little more, and you don’t have that “perfect body” anymore you will still have your beautiful heart and personality that will you get farther in life than surface beauty. I love that she is telling young girls that SHE will be their mirror because yours seem to be broken, she is singing to you to help you realize and help you see clearer the light that shines within you.

No better you than the you that you are

I love this so so so so much. Such a simple line yet so powerful. There is no one out there that is better than you. I don’t say that in a selfish ego-ish way that you’re better than everyone, but you are the best you that you can be already and no one can do that better than you, and you can’t be anyone else that’s better than you already are.

***

This song is one of my favorites right now because of the powerful message that lies behind it. I think this songs speaks so much to me because I have had troubles defining who Marissa is. I have been in this position looking at other girls wanting to be them, wanting to have bigger lips, a bigger butt, or a smaller waist so that boys will like me and I would look better than the other girls. I looked in the mirror hating what I saw. I died my hair, changed my whole look, my group of friends, sports, interest, everything only to fit this make believe mold of what a girl should be, should be interested in, and should look like. It took me a while to feel comfortable in my own skin and love myself. But since I have done that, I am the happiest I have ever been and in such a better place.

My boyfriend has been one of the biggest contributors to this realization of myself because when I transferred schools sophomore year I was in a weird place where I still didn’t feel 100% comfortable with myself and I was still looking for who I was exactly. I saw all these girls who looked completely different than me, who acted different than me, did different things than me and I fell back down that deep dark hole. I wanted to start changing myself to fit this new mold that surrounded me. I never got the chance to however because then D came along and liked me in this weird sate I was in where I didn’t even know who I was. This was a good thing because now I didn’t feel so pressured to change myself to fit this imaginary mold so people would like me because I already had someone who liked me for me. He liked my average hair, face, waist size, and eyes. He liked ME, not this fake me that I created so someone would like me. It was a great feeling. 3 years later I have found who I am, what I like, how I look, and my own interests and he still loves and supports me.

This lesson is something that unfortunately every girl has to go through sometime in her life but I just wanted to reassure you that it will be okay, you will find yourself, you don’t need to go down that deep dark hole and listen to the media or other people around you. Listen to your heart. You are beautiful just the way you are and there is no better you than the you that you are.

*Disclaimer: I wanted to make it clear that this post is not shaming skinny girls or any other shape or size of a person, I am just bringing to attention the fact that the media morphed these girls into unrealistic sizes that are usually skinny. If you are naturally skinny embrace yourself as well and love yourself, thick girls as well. Everyone has the right to love themselves despite color, race, gender, sexuality, shape, size, anything.

my-drifting-desk

Tell Me What YOU Think!

