Earliest Childhood Memory

Hey yall!

It’s Day 4 of my 31 Day Blog Challenge and today I’m going to be telling my earliest childhood memory.

earliest-childhood-memory

This memory isn’t actually in my own memory because I was really young when this happened and I don’t personally remember it, but I hear about it all the time from my family who does remember it because of how funny it was when it happened. So I’m going to share it with all of you so you can laugh at me too.

I’m not sure how old I was, I know I was really young, but old enough to count. (That’ll make sense in a second).

My older sister, who is 10 years older than me, is always upset she got in trouble for every little thing she did while I always got away with everything. That always happens though. The first child has the strict side of the parents who are worried about everything, but when the second child comes they usually have the hang of things and they just don’t have the energy to be as strict anymore.

My sister was too scared to ever go against my parents or do anything wrong because she would for sure get in trouble. I on the other hand, was not sacred of anything. Including my parents. I was fearless. I did whatever I wanted (so I was told) and never listened. My sister always tells me she was scared when I would do something bad because she was sure her and I would BOTH get in trouble for what I did. But it never happened.

One day when I got in trouble (I don’t remember for what) My dad was REALLY angry with me and I’m sure my sister was secretly happy I was going to FINALLY get in trouble. But she wasn’t expecting what came next.

My dad started counting. Yeah, the scary countdown. The countdown that when your parents reached 3 you knew you were getting a whooping. The countdown that would stop any child in their tracks and contemplate what they did wrong. Their whole tiny lives flashed before their little eyes when the counting started.

But not me.

My dad said “One…” looking me dead in the eyes, catching me in the act of whatever bad thing I was doing. His face was angry, his eyes staring into my little soul. The room was quiet. I looked at him cross eyed, and said “Twwwooooo.”

There was gasps coming from my sister because she knew if she ever dared counting back to dad it would be over for her. The silence was broke by laughter from my mom and dad. They couldn’t keep straight faces. I’m sure my sister was angry because I was supposed to be getting in trouble for something that she would have gotten in trouble for if she had done.

I don’t know what happened after that, but since then counting down wasn’t an option for my parents. To this day we still laugh about this and my sister calls me a little brat (in a loving sisterly way). But that has got to be the funniest earliest funny memory that I can think of.

Please share some funny memories from your childhood in the comments!! I would love to read them!!

my-drifting-desk

 

2 thoughts on “Earliest Childhood Memory

Tell Me What YOU Think!

